Conneaut Lake Area Historical Society is dedicated to exploring the rich cultural heritage of Conneaut Lake and the surrounding areas. Located in Northwest Pennsylvania, the Conneaut Lake area has a long history of affecting the region, state and even the nation.
The story of Conneaut Lake started in the Ice Age when receding glaciers formed Conneaut Lake. Although small in size, the lake is recognized as the largest natural lake in Pennsylvania. A new focus of our museum this year is to include more information on the early history of the lake, including the Woolly Mammoths that roamed along the shores and evidence confirms that the both the mammoth and mastodon were present here in significant numbers.
Another exhibit will include information on the numerous encampments of the Iroquois Indian who came for the abundance of fish and wildlife offered in and around the lake and left spears and other tools still found here.
Conneaut Lake was one of the counties earliest settlements starting with a grist mill near the shore. An amazing feat of engineering is told in our exhibit on the French Creek Feeder Canal that carried water 25 miles to provide additional water into Erie-Pittsburgh Extension Canal. Canal travel soon was replaced by the arrival of the railroad. Although the canal brought the lake to the attention of outside world, the railroad arrival in the 1860's brought rapid change bringing hundreds of passengers to share the beautiful lake and outdoor experience at camp sites, boarding houses and hotels. By 1892, Exposition Park was founded and later became Conneaut Lake Park.
While the Conneaut Lake Area Historical Society has explored our history, we have also helped make new history. In 2008, CLAHS took a leading role in helping Conneaut Lake celebrate its 150th anniversary. We are also looking to the future to determine what ways we can preserve the past to benefit the future.
We are very thankful that you’ve chosen to visit our website. We would also love to get to know you as well. Please feel free to stop in at our museum. Our monthly meetings and events are also open to the public. Come and join the fun!
“The Railroad Comes to Stoney Point,” with Dennis Mead as guest speaker on August 17th at 7:30 p.m. Program is open to the public, free of charge. It is at Station Five, Conneaut Lake Park Fire Hall, which is smoke-free and handicapped accessible.